

IECON 2024 Conference

The 50th Annual Conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society

November 3-6, 2024

Sheraton Grand Chicago Riverwalk





CALL FOR PAPERS

ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE IEEE INDUSTRIAL ELECTRONICS SOCIETY

IECON 2024 is the 50th Annual Conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IES), focusing on contemporary industry topics ranging from power electronics, power systems, controls, manufacturing, to communications and computational intelligence. IECON is the flagship annual conference of IES. It aims to create a forum for scientists and practicing engineers throughout the world to present the latest research findings and ideas in the areas of Industrial Electronics, and possible contributions toward sustainable development and environment preservation. The objectives of the conference are to provide high quality research and professional interactions for the advancement of science, technology, and fellowship. Papers with new research results are encouraged for submission. Join us to celebrate the 50th anniversary of IECON!

Regular Sessions:

The regular session of the conference is covered but not limited to following topics: Energy: Power systems and the smart grid, renewable energy systems, power electronics & energy conversion, electrical machines and drives, energy storage systems, electric transportation. Control and Robotics: Control systems, motion control, robotics and mechatronics, instrumentation, sensors, actuators, systems integration and nanotechnologies, signal and image processing and computational intelligence. Information and communication technologies (ICT) and interdisciplinary areas: Intelligent factory automation, ICT and AI enabling smart cities, buildings, energy efficiency and sustainability, electronic systems on chip and embedded systems, ICT enablers of autonomy and smart transport, human centric ICT, assistive robotics, industrial cyber-physical systems, deep learning & machine learning applications.

Special Sessions:

Special Sessions focused on reporting innovations and breakthroughs in highly specialized topic areas (within the conference's scope) will be conducted. These sessions will broaden the knowledge base of attendees, helping them stay updated with recent advances in the industrial electronics domain. Special sessions are organized on the initiative and recommendation of several attendees, who must adhere to specific procedures published on the conference website.

Tutorials:

Informative tutorials and dedicated training sessions will be conducted. During these sessions well-known experts from academia and industry will introduce fundamentals and state-of-the-art on emerging areas in industrial electronics. Several industry partners will also provide hands-on tutorial sessions demonstrating their products and how they can be leveraged by attendees in professional as well as in research.

Industry Panel Sessions:

The Industry Panel Sessions runs in parallel with the traditional Technical Sessions track. Panels of experts from industry are invited to discuss the selected topic jointly with academia and research institutes without submitting a formal manuscript for the IECON Proceedings. This allows IECON 2024 to discuss in detail current topics in industrial electronics that would not otherwise be presented in the technical session tracks.

Important dates

Special session proposals: 28 Feb. 2024 Full Paper Submission: 15 April 2024 Acceptance Notification: 10 June 2024 Final Submission and 01 July 2024 Registration:







Student & Young Professional Activities:

The S&YP Activities offers opportunities for engineering students and recent graduates (young professionals) to present their R&D work in Industrial Electronics, and to help them develop networking connections. IES S&YP can take a part in a competition for the IES-S&-YP Paper Assistance during submission process. For more details, please visit IES electronics channels.

Paper Submission:

The working language of the conference is English. Prospective participants are requested to electronically submit full papers of their work to https://confcomm. ieee-ies.org/. Accepted, registered, and presented papers will be IEEE copyrighted and published in the conference proceedings. The proceedings are planned to be submitted for inclusion in IEEE Xplore® Digital Library and therefore indexed by EI Compendex. For the accepted paper to be submitted for inclusion into the IEEE Xplore® Digital Library, all of the following requirements must be satisfied: 1) Appropriate publication materials: final paper and transfer of copyright to IEEE must be submitted. 2) At least one full registration should be paid. 3) Papers must be presented at the conference.



Milos Manic (USA), Leopoldo G. Franquelo (Spain), Jose Rodrigues (Chile), Bimal Bose(USA), Xinghuo Yu (Australia), Terry Martin (USA), Okyay Kaynak (Turkey), Dave Irwin (USA), Joachim Holtz (Germany).

General Chairs:

Mohammad Shadmand (USA), Haitham Abu-Rub (Qatar), Mariusz Malinowski (Poland), Kamal Al-Haddad (Canada).

Technical Program Chairs:

Sertac Bayhan (Qatar), Sheldon S. Williamson (Canada), Sudip Mazumder (USA), Chandan Chakraborty (India), Luis Gomes (Portugal).

Aleksander Malinowski (USA), Shady Khalil (UK). **Industry and Exhibition Chairs:**

Mohsen Hosseinzadehtaher (USA), Said Al-Hallaj (USA), Harish S. Krishnamoorthy (USA), Jens Onno Krah (Germany), Mohammed Ben-Idris (USA), Michael Condry (USA), Nikhil Kumar (USA), Victor Huang (USA).

Publication Chair:

Babak Parkhideh (USA), Jianzhe Liu (China), Kiyoshi Ohishi, (Japan), Juan C. Balda (USA).

Special Session Chairs

Yang Shi (Canada), Xiaonan Lu (USA), Huijun Gao (China), Masoud Karimi (USA), Makoto Iwasaki (Japan), Ahmad Khan (USA), Leila Parsa (USA).

Tutorial Chairs:

Yousef Ibrahim (Australia), Afshin Izadian (USA), Hasan Komurcugil (Turkey), Huazhen Fang (USA). Publicity Chair:

Mo-Yuen Chow (USA), Antonio Luque (Spain), Giampaolo Buticchi (China), Matthew Baker (USA), Anas Karaki (Qatar).

Student & Young Professional Chairs:

Dmitri Vinnikov (Estonia), Andrii Chub (Estonia), Hani Vahedi (Canada).

Local Arrangement Chairs:

Silvanus D'silva (USA), Alireza Zare (USA), Amirhosein Gohari Nazari (USA), Hamideh Alvand

Women in Engineering (WIE) Chairs

YA-Jun Pan (Canada), Morgan Kiani (USA), Lucia Lo Bello (Italy), Mengqi Wang (USA), Norma Anglani, (Italy).

